WELCOME

Welcome and thank you for visiting!

The charts, graphs and comments in my Trading Blog represent my technical analysis and observations of a variety of world markets...
* Major World Market Indices * Futures Markets * U.S. Sectors and ETFs * Commodities * U.S. Bonds * Forex

DISCLAIMER: All the information contained within my posts are my opinions only and none of it may be construed as financial or trading advice...
please read my full Disclaimer at this link.

Dots

...If the dots don't connect, gather more dots until they do...

Summer

Summer

Events

UPCOMING (MAJOR) ECONOMIC EVENTS...
* Mon. July 3 @ 1:00 pm ET ~ U.S. Markets close early for Independence Day holiday
* Tues. July 4 ~ U.S. Markets closed for Independence Day holiday
* Wed. July 5 @ 2:00 pm ET ~ FOMC Meeting Minutes
* Fri. July 7 @ 8:30 am ET ~ Employment Data
* Wed. July 12 @ 2:00 pm ET ~ Beige Book Report
* Tues. July 25 ~ 2-day FOMC Meeting Begins
* Wed. July 26 @ 2:00 pm ET ~ FOMC Announcement
* Tues. Sept. 19 ~ 2-day FOMC Meeting Begins
* Wed. Sept. 20 @ 2:00 pm ET ~ FOMC Announcement + FOMC Forecasts + @ 2:30 pm ET ~ Fed Chair Press Conference
* Tues. Oct. 31 ~ 2-day FOMC Meeting Begins
* Wed. Nov. 1 @ 2:00 pm ET ~ FOMC Announcement
* Tues. Dec. 12 ~ 2-day FOMC Meeting Begins
* Wed. Dec. 13 @ 2:00 pm ET ~ FOMC Announcement + FOMC Forecasts + @ 2:30 pm ET ~ Fed Chair Press Conference
*** Click here for link to Economic Calendars for all upcoming events

Tuesday, February 02, 2016

Nikkei Index Teeters on the 2007/08 Brink

*See UPDATE below...

Japan's Nikkei Index is currently trading just above the 17,000 level as I write this post around 9:00 pm ET Tuesday and is down around 3.3% from yesterday's close. You can see from the Monthly chart below that this is around the same level just before the 2007/08 crash.


A drop and hold below 17,000 could spell another big plunge in this index and confirms what I mentioned in my post of January 29th. If it holds, this "island reversal" candle formation on the Daily chart below should produce some "interesting" results!


*UPDATE February 9th:

The above bearish "island reversal" candle formation has been confirmed. After last night's 918.86 point drop, the Nikkei Index now sits just above 16,000, as shown on the following Monthly chart.

Major support sits at 14,000, followed by 12,000.


At the moment (10:05 am ET), the USD/JPY Forex pair is trading at 115.22, as shown on the following Monthly chart.

Major support lies far below at 110.00, followed by 100.00.


The recent extreme moves in both the Nikkei Index and the USD/JPY Forex pair tells me that volatility is not yet over, and, in fact, may have just begun.